2016 UA Executive of the Year Luncheon Honoring Frederick W. Smith, FedEx Corporation

Event Date

Friday, April 8, 2016 -
11:30am to 1:30pm


Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa
3800 East Sunrise Drive
Tucson, AZ 85718

Frederick W. Smith
Frederick W. Smith


More Information

The University of Arizona Executive of the Year

Established in 1983 by the Eller College of Management National Board of Advisors, the Executive of the Year Award honors individuals who exemplify executive qualities in private enterprise and public service.

Previous Award Recipients

Sam Fox
CEO and Founder, Fox Restaurant Concepts
Janet Napolitano
President, University of California
Former Secretary of Homeland Security

Laurence M. Baer
President and CEO, San Francisco Giants

Robert M. Gates
Former U.S. Secretary of Defense

Howard Schultz
Starbucks Coffee Company

View All Recipients
Photos courtesy FedEx Corporation.

The University of Arizona Executive of the Year

Frederick W. Smith
Chairman, CEO, and Founder
FedEx Corporation

The UA Executive of the Year Luncheon will be held on Friday, April 8, 2016 for our annual Executive of the Year Luncheon, honoring Frederick W. Smith, Chairman, CEO, and Founder of FedEx Corporation. Registration for this event is closed.


Event Details

Friday, April 8, 2016
11:30 a.m. Registration Check-in
12:00 - 1:30 p.m. Lunch and Keynote Address

Westin La Paloma Resort & Spa
3800 East Sunrise Drive
Tucson, Arizona
[view map and directions]


Sponsorship Opportunity

Host students and gain visibility for your organization through support of the University of Arizona Executive of the Year Award Luncheon:

Executive Sponsor - $5,000

  • Acknowledgment placement on UA Executive of the Year website
  • Recognition of sponsorship support in full-page ad in event program, slideshow, and signage
  • Two tables (includes 10 tickets for sponsor and ten tickets for students)
  • Payment in excess of $850 is tax deductible

The deadline for Executive Sponsorship is March 14 in order to be listed in the program.

If you are interested in sponsoring the Executive of the Year Luncheon, please contact Kate Worland at 520.621.4121 or eoy@eller.arizona.edu.


About Frederick W. Smith, Chairman, CEO, and Founder of FedEx Corporation

Born in 1944 in Marks, Mississippi, Frederick W. Smith (Yale College 1966) is the founder and CEO of FedEx Corporation. The original analyses about the logistic needs of a highly automated future society were done during his tenure as an undergraduate.

After four years of service in the Marines, including two tours of duty in Vietnam, he launched the original air-ground Federal Express network, which began operations in 1973 to serve the rapidly growing high-tech/high-value added sectors of the economy Smith had predicted. The company has since grown into a $49 billion global enterprise.

Smith is responsible for providing strategic direction for all FedEx operating companies: FedEx Services (including FedEx Office), FedEx Express, FedEx Ground, and FedEx Freight. FedEx serves more than 220 countries and territories with operations that include 634 aircrafts and over 90,000 vehicles. More than 350,000 team members worldwide currently handle more than 11 million shipments each business day.

FedEx has been widely acknowledged for its commitment to total quality service. FedEx Express was the first service company to win the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award in 1990. FedEx has consistently been ranked on Fortune magazine’s industry lists, including “World’s Most Admired Companies” and “100 Best Companies to Work For,” and is on Fortune’s “Blue Ribbon Companies List.”

Smith is co-chair of the Energy Security Leadership Council, a Trustee for the United States Council for International Business, and a member of both the Business Council and Business Roundtable. He served as chairman of the U.S.-China Business Council and co-chair of the French-American Business Council. He has served on the boards of several large public companies – Malone and Hyde (AutoZone), First Tennessee, Holiday Inns, EW Scripps, and General Mills – and charitable organizations including St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital and the Mayo Foundation. He was formerly chairman of the Board of Governors for the International Air Transport Association and chaired the executive committee of the U.S. Air Transport Association.

Smith has received several honorary degrees and numerous civic, academic, and business awards including the Global Leadership Award from the U.S.-India Business Council, George C. Marshall Foundation Award, Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy, and Circle of Honor Award from the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation. In addition, Smith is a member of the Aviation Hall of Fame and the Business Hall of Fame. He served as co-chairman of both the U.S. World War II Memorial project and the campaign for the National Museum of the Marine Corps. He has been named a top CEO by both Barron’s and Chief Executive magazines.